Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Modified FT after distal biceps detachment surgery

Greetings Dr. Scott,

This is my first post, but I read just about everything I can find that you post.  I purchased the FT program and have had some very good results.  I recently had a major setback.  I detached my distal biceps tendon playing weekend warrior sports and it required surgery to reattach it.  It is a lengthy recovery:  6 weeks of complete immobilization followed by 6 weeks of nothing but stretching and ROM exercises.  I cannot touch a weight or even a resistance band for a total of 12 weeks post op.  Then, I am hearing up to 9 months before I can really get after it in the gym.

I am 54 years old so at my age, I really don't have 9 months to sacrifice, but I have no other options at this point.  I have been training consistently since 1984 and was a (marginally) successful competitive powerlifter for 15-20 of those years.  About 10 years ago I had a paradigm shift and now all I care about is looking better in the mirror.  I train like a bodybuilder using the framework of those like yourself, Dante Trudel and Jordan Peters.

Here is the crux of my question.  The left side of my upper body now has severe atrophy and it is getting worse by the day.  My left arm and deltoid in particular are bearing the brunt of this shrinkage.  On a positive note, I have been crushing legs using the TURBO version and doing my best to train with only my right arm.  When I am cleared to start using my left arm again, is there a way to modify FT to focus on building my upper body back up....and perhaps even more emphasis on the left arm/deltoid so they can catch back up (if you even recommend this idea)????

Thank you in advance for your correspondence,
Jeff
(01-25-2023, 05:55 AM)theswami Wrote: Greetings Dr. Scott,