Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Training around a ruptured disc
I'm going through some back issues right now. I had a MRI last week and it turns out that I have degenerated disc disease, my L5 S1 is practically gone as well as a couple of more that's not in great shape. But right now that's not my pain, I have a rupture disc on the L3. I will be getting a epidural Monday, and I hope that takes care of the intense pain in my left leg right now.

I talked to the orthopedic Dr and I told her that I have no plans on ever stopping training, and she agrees that its probably what has kept me from having more back issues up to this point. I'm 47 and I have been training off and on for 30 years, with the last 7 years being non stop other than deloads. And I will have my back go out on me for a few days maybe once a year if not longer than that. But I have never hurt like this.

My main question is what advice would you give to training abs. I'll continue training with leverage squats, hip belt squats, leg press, and smith squats and will do rack deads and trap bar deads which will all help strengthen my core, but all the reading I'm doing says basically all crunches sit ups and leg raises are bad for the spine. I don't won't to neglect my abs but I sure don't want to doing any harm to my back.

Scott have you got some ideas for training abs, or any other advice you can give?

(03-03-2019, 01:25 PM)flairsjobber Wrote: I'm going through some back issues right now. I had a MRI last week and it turns out that I have degenerated disc disease, my L5 S1 is practically gone as well as a couple of more that's not in great shape. But right now that's not my pain, I have a rupture disc on the L3. I will be getting a epidural Monday, and I hope that takes care of the intense pain in my left leg right now.